Diamonds’ colors from D to X

Diamonds’ colors from D to X

The more colourless the diamond, the more unique and expensive it is.

Well, that’s true. The GIA Color Scale helps us to determine a diamond’s color quality and its level of transparency.

GIA developed its Diamond Color Chart in the early 1950s, a time when there were a lot of different, subjective terms used for describing a diamond’s color: for example, white, blue white or AAAA.

The GIA scale begins with letter D, which represents total transparency, and continues with increasing presence of color to letter Z, which stands for light yellow, light brown or light gray. Each letter is a measure of how noticeable the color is. The 23 color grades on the GIA Color Scale are subdivided into five subcategories:

▫️ colorless (D, E, F);

Truly colorless diamonds are extremely rare.

▫️ near colorless (G, H, I, J);

Most diamonds used in jewelry are nearly colorless – with pale tints of yellow or brown.

▫️ faint color (K, L, M);

▫️ very light color (N-R);

▫️ light color (S-Z).

Subscribe to discover the world of diamonds and gems. If you have any questions, please let us know.

Share this post